Ham-n-Tots Casserole


Do you ever just get the “I don’t want to and you can’t make me, nanny, nanny boo-boo’s”?  Today, that was my attitude.  The last thing I wanted to do was come home and cook dinner.  (Dang, why did I give the maid the night off?!)  I had promised my husband for quite sometime that I would make him a tater tot casserole.  Tonight was the night!  Originally, I was going to make it as a side dish, but because of my laziness, I decided I wanted to make it into a complete meal.

The original recipe does not include meat.  On Cooks.com,there were several recipes that incorporated browned ground beef and some added green beans or broccoli.  I remembered I had some ham in the freezer and thought that would be a good idea.  I chose not to add veggies because I planned on serving a side salad.

It is a good, hearty meal, and I think this would be super on a cold fall or winter night, especially before heading out to the football game on a Friday night.  It was effortless.  Exactly what I was looking for.  Kids would totally dig this too!

Thanks for stopping by!  Enjoy the rest of your week!

TATER TOT CASSEROLE-adapted from http://www.cooks.com
Ingredients:
  • 1 (32 oz.) package frozen potato rounds
  • 1 (16 oz.) container sour cream
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 3 cups shredded ham
  • 1 (10-3/4 oz.) can condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 1 (6 oz.) can French-fried onions

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350°F. (175°C.).
  • Grease a 9×13 inch-baking dish.
  • Arrange tater tots in the prepared baking dish.
  • Spread ham evenly over tots.
  • In a mixing bowl, combine sour cream, cheese, and mushroom soup.
  • Pour this mixture over the tater tots.
  • Sprinkle onions over the top of the casserole.
  • Bake for 45 to 60 minutes.
  • Let it sit for 6 or 7 minutes before serving.
About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on May 18, 2011, in Casseroles, Cooking, Food, Ham, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Yum! I have always wanted a recipe for a hashbrown or tatertot casserole and this looks so rich, cheesy and delicious!

  2. I just wanted to let you know that you are a Genuine Blogger. Celebrate your blog, as it is comes across to the reader as heartfelt and genuine. There are no rules with this honor. Accept it and relish in the thought that your blog is “award worthy” without having any strings attached. If you choose to give this award to a deserving fellow blogger, please do so with no “rules.” Award it to someone for his or her genuineness in blogging. Free and clear.
    Kay aka Babygirl – Pure Complex

    • Thank you very much Kay! That is very sweet of you! I am pretty sure you were one of my first person, outside of family and friends, to comment on my blog. Which is awesome, because then I could discover yours and found something pretty cool to look forward to everyday. I always appreciate your visits, comments, and, most of all, being apart of your blogroll. Thanks again! I appreciate you each day!

  3. A tater tot casserole. That is probably every child’s dream. It definitely was and still is mine :P

  4. Hi there, I came by way of pure complex’ site. Your site looks cool! I will browse around a bit if you don’t mind. This recipe does look easy to make and great comfort food! I will try it one of these days when friends come over or something because I love tots but I don’t eat a lot of potatoes, so this will be a great treat! YUM! Thanks for sharing! :)

  5. I can’t believe you just said na na na boo boo LMAO. I am dying over here. But I have to say I really like this ham and tots meal

  6. I love casseroles. But, I don’t like ham. Weird I know, but do you think its possible to use chicken or turkey rather than ham in this recipe?!?
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

