Frankie’s Bride


Isn't she lovely?

So a friend from work was having her daughter’s birthday party a couple of weeks ago, and they decided to do a Halloween theme.  She had seen this cake in the Taste of Home magazine, the Halloween edition.  Knowing that I like to cook, she asked if I could make the cake for her.  Of course I jumped at the chance.  I had seen this particular cake a few times over the last few years and always thought it was so cute.  I was excited to give it a whirl.  Excited as I was, I was equally anxious about doing the piping.  It was my first time to pipe icing (mainly her hair).  Note: To those who have never piped icing, FYI-don’t try to pipe it all at once.  Your hand will warm up that butter cream so fast and it will cause the icing to droop.  I recommend filling 2 bags of the purple and pipe half of her hair with one and leave the other in the fridge and then pipe the other half with the one on reserve in the fridge.  The hair looked pretty good after a few touch ups.  All in all, it didn’t look too shabby!

The recipe itself was very easy to follow and although you use a store-bought cake mix, the icing is homemade.  And very tasty I might add.  I only used the 6 cups of sugar and had more than enough icing.  I do suggest reserving more of the white icing as I ran out before I could finish piping it and had to spread it to fill in the gap.  As you can see, it did not affect the outcome.  I also had to improvise on all the candy that was suggested to use to “dress her up” because most of the candy I could not find.

The cake was a hit when I delivered it.  Mom and birthday girl thought it was the greatest thing.  And, well, that is what is what is most important.   I of course worried about all the little imperfections.  My husband told me to stop being so hyper critical because it looked great.  She did look very cute!  I would definitely recommend this to all levels of baking skill.  This cake may make a reappearance next Halloween!

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Frankie-s-Bride-Cake

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on November 4, 2010, in Baking, Cooking, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How cute! Great job on the icing!

    • If a reply already came to you…sorry…but, thank you for the comment! This is a whole new world for me, blogging, and I think I will enjoy it…I read that you are from Sarasota…I lived in Bradenton and worked at the courthouse in Sarasota for 5 years…what is your family’s restaurant?

Leave a comment