Cranberries…


Yesterday was our Thanksgiving potluck at work.  I decided to make homemade, whole cranberry, sauce and not just open a can, shake out and slice the purple, cylinder-shaped, jellied version.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with that.  It seems it is the popular item on everyone’s Thanksgiving dinner table.  And why not? It’s convenient and one less thing to worry about preparing.  I am a firm believer in short cuts when I can.  Especially when I am cooking for Thanksgiving. This time, however, I wanted to try something new.   I found a really easy recipe using frozen cranberries, orange juice, sugar, and just a hint of cinnamon.   It took less than 30 minutes, if that, to cook down.  I then poured it in the dish I planned to use and let it sit on the counter until it cooled completely before I put it in the fridge.  I don’t eat cranberry anything, and so my husband was my guinea pig.  He wasn’t sure what to think of it at first.  He said he liked it.  He had only ever had the jellied version and so he didn’t know there was a “whole berry” option.  He assured me that it was good and had a good flavor.

Well, it wasn’t so popular at lunch.  Not because of the taste.  The few who did try it said that it was really good.  The problem was most were like my husband.  Had either never had whole cranberry sauce or just didn’t care for it.  One of the girls told me her dad or granddad liked to pour his over a slice of cheesecake.  My husband got excited at that notion.  He agreed it would be very good that way.  I will probably not make this again simply because it’s not preferred.

Well, there you have it.  Jellied cranberry sauce from a can.  Why reinvent the wheel.  If you want to make your guests happy this holiday season, crack open a can!

If you would like to try the recipe, say, maybe for cheesecake, check it out at this link: http://allrecipes.com//Recipe/cranberry-sauce/Detail.aspx

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on November 11, 2010, in Cooking, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment