It’s a Souper Day!


On Friday morning we woke up to our first snowstorm of the season.  It was a storm in every sense of the word.  It was a thunder snow actually.  We had this wicked lightning and loud booming thunder, and in place of rain, big snow flakes. It was pretty wild.

What does this have to do with soup you ask?  Well, now that the cold weather has officially arrived, the soup making can begin.  Tonight I made the house favorite, Taco Soup.  It is the perfect soup for the cold days.  You can find it simmering in the crock pot in our house on most weekends throughout the winter.  Especially if the forecast calls for snow.

This recipe was given to me by my Mother-in-law, and I have tweaked it to our liking.  You can dump it all into the crock pot, set it on low in the morning, and have soup in time for lunch.  Tonight, however, I prepared it on the stove.  If you choose to prepare yours on the stove, that will take about an hour and a half, including prep time.

This is a very healthy, hearty soup.  Healthy, that is, until you pour it over chips, sprinkle with shredded cheddar and top it with a dollop of sour cream.  Of course, there are low-fat options of all of those garnishes for those who are more inclined to eat light.

I hope that you give this soup a try!

Taco Soup

Ingredients:

1 Pound Ground Beef, (browned with onion and drained)

1 Onion, chopped (cook with ground beef)

2 Cans, Chicken Broth (if you chose stove top method 1 can may only be necessary depending on the size pot you use)

1 Can, Great Northern Beans (drained and rinsed)

1 Can, Black Beans (drained and rinsed)

1 Can, Kidney Beans (drained and rinsed)

2 Cans Rotel (diced tomatoes with green chilies)

2 Cups Frozen Corn

1 Pkg, Taco Seasoning

1 Pkg, Fiesta Hidden Valley Ranch

2 TBS minced Garlic

Directions:

1.  Brown ground beef with onion, drain

2.  Place ground beef with onion into crock pot with the remaining ingredients listed.

3.  Turn *crock pot on low and heat through.  (Few hours)

Serving options:  Place tortilla chips or corn chips (Fritos) in bottom of bowls.  Spoon the soup over chips, sprinkle with shredded cheese and top with a dollop of sour cream.

*If you choose stove top method, cook your beef and onion in the pot you plan to cook the soup in and after you drain the ground beef and onion, you can dump all the other ingredients right into the pot, keep the setting on a 3 or less, cover and when it starts to simmer, it’s ready!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on November 15, 2010, in Cooking, Crock Pot, Food, Recipes, Soup. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Keep the recipes coming! Great to have you here.

    I have taken to buying bags of dried beans. I use my crockpot to reconstitute them and then freeze them in can size amounts. Been working well so far!

Leave a Reply

