It’s the most wonderful time of the year…


Now with Thanksgiving out-of-the-way, its time to start planning the holiday baking.  Ever since I was a little girl, every year,  my mom, Memom, and Aunt Kim would get together for one whole day and bake cookies for Christmas.  They would bake everything from spritz to sugar cut-outs to pizzelles.

The tradition fizzled as the years went on, especially when my parents decided to move the family from Jersey to Florida.  It wasn’t until a few years after my parents moved when Memom decided to head to Florida that the tradition was reborn.  This time, it was me and Memom that did the baking.

Now, I live in Texas and decided to introduce my stepson 2 years ago to this sweet Christmas tradition.  We had so much fun decorating cut-outs and bringing gingerbread men to life.  We even made some really great fudge to include in our cookie trays.  Last Christmas, I enlisted my husband.

So here we are, December fast approaching, and the baking will soon begin.  My husband has requested we include chocolate chip cookies.  And of course there are those that just wouldn’t be Christmas without them…gingerbread men, sugar cookie cut-outs, peanut butter blossoms…we will add a few new cookies and make some candy as well.

This month, I will share the wonderful goodies we have created.  One of the favorites of our cookie tray, from those that were fortunate to receive one, was the pecan turtles.  Anyone, no matter what cooking skill, can make these candies and I promise, they will be a hit.

So, here we go:  (By the way, I suggest doubling the recipe if you plan to share)

Pecan Turtles

Picture courtesy of Allrecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 20 small mini pretzels
  • 20 Rolos
  • 20 pecan halves

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Arrange the pretzels on parchment on a cookie sheet.
  3. Place one Rolo candy on each pretzel.
  4. Bake for 4 minutes.
  5. Remove from the oven and while the candy is warm, press a pecan half on top of each candy covered pretzel.
  6. Cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

**Please note:  You can involve the kids in setting up the Rolos on the pretzels, but leave the pecan pressing to the grown-ups.

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on November 29, 2010, in Baking, Candy, Christmas, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is so clever! Enjoy your baking.

Leave a Reply

