Crock Pot Chicken


Today, I made my new favorite way to cook chicken…in the crock pot.  A few weeks ago I got a really great deal on a couple of little “roaster” chickens, but didn’t really know how I was going to cook them.  I just knew I couldn’t pass up on the sale and they can “chill out” in the freezer until I figured something out.  I decided to cook one of the chickens for our Thursday night dinner with my stepson.  But how.  As usual, I started surfing the ‘net and found a lot of recipes to slow cook in the crock pot all day.  Marvelous!  I LOVE using my crock pot in any way that I can.

After reading  a few versions, I came up with my own and received rave reviews.  This is the third time I have made it. It comes out so moist and the chicken will literally fall apart the instant you try to cut into it.  Yum!  The hardest part is being at work all day, knowing what you are in store for when you get home.  The best part; coming home, opening the front door and being greeted with such a wonderful aroma.

Hungry yet?  I have already enjoyed my dinner and just writing about it here has my tummy wanting more!

Here is how you can have a delicious chicken dinner with minimal effort and your family will love you for it!

1.  Make sure you remove the neck and giblets from inside the cavity and

All dressed up and ready to go!

rinse the inside and out really well.

2.  Pat dry with a paper towel and place chicken into the crock pot.

3.  Rub down the bird with butter or margarine.

4.  Squeeze some lemon juice over the chicken…if you use a fresh lemon, you can place the squeezed lemon into the cavity.

5.  Season with your favorite herbs and spices…what I like to use is kosher sea salt, pepper, italian seasoning, and paprika.

Looks gorgeous!

6.  Quarter a medium onion and insert into the cavity…I also add 5 or 6 whole cloves of garlic.

7.  Place the lid on the crock pot, turn on low.

8.  I usually turn the crock pot on just before leaving for work at 7 am and the chicken is perfect when we walk in the door at 5.

All that’s left to do is cook the sides, rolls, whatever!  How great is that!?!  Pretty darn great if you ask me!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on November 30, 2010, in Chicken, Cooking, Crock Pot, Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Oh, yum! Looking forward to this one. Thanks! gail

Leave a Reply

