Cioccolato caldo; servizio esso su stile italiano!


Translation…Hot Chocolate; serving it up Italian style!

Don’t be impressed with my “bi-lingualness”…that translation was c/o Yahoo! Babel Fish.  I know it is pretty darn close.  Even some of our native Spanish speakers at work use this as their “go-to in a pinch”.  If what I said isn’t quite right, eh, only those who speak Italian won’t be impressed…LOL

Moving on!  Today’s post is about a little recipe I received via email from Allrecipes.com somewhere in the 2 weeks leading up to Valentine’s Day.  My inbox was chock full of a “ga-jillion” chocolate recipes from just about every food related site I receive recipes from.  Last Friday night it was pretty chilly and I was in the mood for hot chocolate, so I decided to try this one.  All in all, the recipe was fairly simple.  Minimal ingredients were required, but I think they missed it on the “cooking time”.  Including prep time, it stated 20 minutes total.  I stopped at 35 minutes.  It says to “Continue cooking, whisking continually, until the hot chocolate reaches a pudding-like thickness, 2 to 3 minutes.”  I think that timing is off.  It was almost 15 minutes of whisking before I decided to quit.  I could have very well mis-understood the “pudding like thickness”.  I thought it was going to thicken up like country gravy does.  So, like I said, after 15 minutes, I decided to wave the white flag and call it quits.  I poured it into our mugs, topped it with whipped cream and thought to myself, “Well, you gave it the ol’ college try”.  I handed one to my husband and we took our first sip.  It was really good.  And, surprisingly, once it had time to sit off the heat, it actually thickened up.  Now, please note, it is not the consistency of pudding, but it is thicker than your average instant powder concoction.

If and when the temperature drops again, I will definitely give it another try.  One thing I want to try differently is using a regular cocoa powder instead of the dark.  It was almost too rich for me with the dark.  Oh, and this hot chocolate, was not too sweet at all.  If you like the flavor of the hot chocolate from Starbucks, then you will probably like the flavor of this drink.

Try it if you feel inclined.  The recipe is below.  The link to the original recipe is beneath that.  If you haven’t ever checked out Allrecipes.com, you should and don’t forget to sign-up to receive their emails.

Until next time, ciao!

Cioccolata Calda

(Hot Chocolate Italian-Style)

 

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch

Directions

  1. Mix the cocoa powder and sugar together in a small saucepan. Stir the 1 1/2 cups milk into the saucepan until the sugar has dissolved. Place over low heat; slowly bring the mixture to a low simmer.
  2. Whisk 2 tablespoons of milk together with the cornstarch in a small cup; slowly whisk the cornstarch slurry into the cocoa mixture. Continue cooking, whisking continually, until the hot chocolate reaches a pudding-like thickness, 2 to 3 minutes.

http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Cioccolata-Calda-Hot-Chocolate-Italian-Style/Detail.aspx

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on February 17, 2011, in Chocolate, Cooking, Drinks, Food, Homemade, Hot Drinks, Italian, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

