Come to the dark side…we have brownies…


Brownies, hands down, without a doubt, is my most favorite chocolate goodie.  Just plain, good old-fashioned, brownies.  No frosting, no nuts, no fancy salted caramel or cream cheese.   A simple brownie, done well, is superb all by itself.  Usually, I give mine a light dusting of powdered sugar.  That is more for effect.  It just looks pretty.  In my opinion, the extras take away from the brownie.

Today, I decided to try one of Paula Deen’s recipes.  I have always been fearful because the woman uses an insane amount of butter in every recipe. I have heard nothing but good things from those who have tried her recipes, so I thought I would give one a try.

On Sundays I like to cook a nice meal and I thought brownies would be a great way to end tonight’s chicken dinner.  I found this particular recipe by “googling” “Paula Deens brownie recipes”.  The one that I decided on was “Maggie’s Decadent Brownies”.  Included, is a recipe for a frosting, but of course, I chose not to make it.  One, because  as I stated before, I prefer no frosting and two, I didn’t have all the necessary ingredients.

This recipe was so simple and easy!  You use the microwave to prepare the chocolate and butter, toss in the rest of the ingredients, pour into your pan, and then into the oven.  Honestly, it didn’t take any longer than using a box mix.  I do suggest, because microwave ovens vary, adjusting the melting time.  I set my microwave for the 3 minutes, stopping and stirring every 30 seconds, as directed, and I was completely melted with 45 seconds to spare.  So, the 3 minutes is as guideline.  If you let it go the duration, its liable to burn.  I also suggest, because ovens vary, you watch your cook time as well.  I actually had to bake it about 3 minutes longer.  You know your oven best, so just adjust accordingly.

After about 10 minutes of cooling, they were ready.  (You honestly didn’t think I would wait until dinner now would you??)  These are THE perfect brownie.  The top forms a nice little crust and the inside is so moist, fudgy, and has a cake-like texture as well.  It has the perfect combination of sweetness and chocolate.  Not too much or too little of either.  And not because I don’t prefer it, but I think the frosting would really make it “over the top” sweet and ruin these brownies.  If you want a little something more, I think a small scoop of vanilla ice cream would compliment it well.

I highly recommend this recipe.  It is simple, uses minimal ingredients, and a cook, at any skill level, can bake these and be proud.  I have posted the recipe below and the link to the original at Food Network below the recipe.

Enjoy your week!

Maggie’s Decadent Brownies

Recipe courtesy Paula Deen

Ingredients
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour, sifted

Frosting:

  • 4 ounces (4 squares) unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup pasteurized egg substitute (recommended: Egg Beaters)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (1-pound) box confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 4 cups mini marshmallows

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 13 by 9-inch baking pan.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a 2-quart bowl in the microwave on high for 3 minutes, stirring every 20 to 30 seconds until the chocolate is completely melted. Add the eggs, sugar, and vanilla and mix well with a spatula. Add the flour and stir to combine. Spread the batter evenly in the prepared pan. Bake for 25 minutes.

While the brownies are baking, make the frosting. Melt the chocolate and butter in a medium bowl in the microwave on high for 3 minutes stirring every 20 to 30 seconds until the chocolate is completely melted. Add the egg substitute, vanilla, and sugar and stir with a spoon until smooth. Stir in the marshmallows; they will soften but not melt completely. Spread the frosting over the warm brownies. The frosting will set up when the brownies are completely cooled. When cool, cut into 1 1/2-inch squares and store in the refrigerator in a plastic container with a snap-on lid.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/maggies-decadent-brownies-recipe/index.html

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on February 27, 2011, in Baking, Brownies, Chocolate, Cooking, Food, Homemade, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

