King for a day…Part One…


For Valentine’s Day I gave my husband a certificate, redeemable for the day of his choosing, to be pampered from sun up to sun down.  He chose today, Saturday, his first day of Spring Break.

To start the morning off, I served strawberry cheesecake pancakes.  I found the recipe in my Pillsbury book that I received just this week.  How convenient!  What was also convenient is that it happened to be a breakfast and brunch edition.  Super!  I wanted to make something different and it was full of great recipes.  This particular recipe was on the front cover.  It looked so pretty and I just knew it would be something that my husband would love.

Other than having to slice the strawberries, it was pretty much a ready-made recipe.  It took me less than 30 minutes to prepare, cook, and serve.  It looked GREAT.  I was so excited to serve it that I forgot to snap a picture of it.  So I borrowed the picture from my Pillsbury magazine, as well as the recipe.  Neither were available from their website.  You should be able to click on the picture of the recipe to enlarge it.  If that doesn’t work for you, contact me and I will get the recipe to you.

The graham cracker crumbs added to the batter make it rather thick, but cook well.  The cheesecake filling is tasty, but it did not fare well as a stand alone.  I don’t eat strawberries so I put some of the filling on a pancake to get a taste.  Not a good option.  However, Brad raved about the combination.

What I loved about this recipe is how versatile it can be.  You can use any fruit or fruit pie filling that you prefer.  You can choose to omit the syrup and just use the fresh fruit.  I used a regular, complete pancake mix, but you can opt for the “Fiber One” mix that it calls for.  Also, the cheesecake pudding mix does come in a “light” version and you can also use low cal/fat cream cheese if you are concerned with keeping up with your diet.  I should warn you though, if you are not a sweet tooth, you might not like this, but your guests for breakfast/brunch may LOVE it.

Hope you are having a wonderfully blessed morning!  Check back this afternoon to see what was for lunch!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on March 12, 2011, in Breakfast, Food, Pancakes, Strawberry, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Aww, that is such a wonderful gift. And I can’t wait to try out these Strawberry Cheesecake pancakes. They sound so delicious. Thank for posting this recipe.

    • Awesome! I hope you like them too. My husband wants me to try to take the cheesecake filling from this recipe and add it to the crepes I make for him. He said it was the first thing that came to his mind when he ate this. He also wants me to try substituting blueberries and/or adding blueberries to this recipe. Of course if I do, I will definitely post it.

  2. They were wonderful!

Leave a Reply

