King for a day…Part Two…


So here we are with part two of today’s post.  My husband loves when I make homemade pizza and so for lunch I made him a personal size pizza with whatever toppings he desired.  He chose onion and bacon.

One day I decided to read through the booklet that came with my bread maker.  I have had if for years and the only time I used it was to make the prepackaged bread mixes that you buy in the store.  I had no idea the possibilities!  I immediately became interested in making pizza dough.  I love Texas, don’t get me wrong, but there are many things that I miss about living in Jersey and that is buying freshly made dough balls.  Man, were they great.  The closest thing here would be the refrigerated pizza dough in a tube or the “just add water” pouches.  I am not knocking it, I have used both of those, but when you have had the good stuff, well, nothing else compares.

So to start, here’s the dough recipe.  (I do understand that not all breadmakers are alike so please do check to see if yours has one!)

“Pizza Crust”

As printed in REGAL Breadmaker Guide and Cookbook

**All ingredients at room temperature (70-80 degrees F/21-27 degrees C)

For a 1 ½ pound machine:

8 oz           Water

½ tsp        Salt

2 TBS        Olive or Vegetable oil

3 C             All-purpose flour

1 ½ tsps   Active dry yeast

Combine all ingredients into bread pan.

Select “Dough” setting.

Press Start/Stop.

When the until signals and the display reads 0:00, press Start/Stop and remove dough.

Since I was making personal size pizzas, I cut my dough ball in half and then halved those pieces, for a total of 4 pieces.  At this time you should pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees.

I only planned on making 2, so the remaining dough balls I put into a plastic storage container and placed it in the fridge.

I pressed out the dough balls until I was happy with the size and shape.  As much as a fanatic as I am about symmetry, pizza, I know, doesn’t have to look pretty, it just needs to taste good.

You can, at this point, sprinkle some cornmeal under your crust if you would like.  I don’t ever use it and we don’t miss it.

Before you spread the sauce, take a fork and prick the dough throughout the center, avoiding the area that will become the crust/edge.  This will help to keep your pizza from forming bubbles or air pockets.

Now you are ready to start piling on the good stuff!  You can use sauce, tomatoes, or olive oil as your base.

I chose to use fire roasted diced tomatoes  with garlic by Hunt’s.  This is the same diced tomatoes I used in my “hot sauce”.  If you use canned tomatoes you must drain the tomatoes very well.  If you don’t. the excess juice will prohibit your crust from cooking properly.

Next is the cheese.  For these individual pizzas I used a 1/2 cup of shredded mozzarella for each.  When I make one large pizza I use a whole 2 cup bag.  You may prefer less cheese.  We like cheesy pizza.

Now for the really good stuff.  Like I said, my husband wanted onion and bacon.  I sprinkled each with diced purple onion and topped each off with 2 slices of pre-cooked bacon.  As a general rule, I try to layer sauce, cheese, veggies, meat.  And please, for your safety, do not put raw meat on your pizza, ever.  Also, try to avoid putting too much toppings on your pizzas.  It will prevent even cooking.

Before I slid these babies into the oven, I sprinkled each with an Italian seasonings blend and cooked these for 16 minutes, just as I would a large pizza.  Next time I want to brush olive oil or butter on the crust before putting in the oven.  But they still came out gorgeous!

This size makes the perfect portion.  Which is great because I LOVE pizza and tend to indulge a little more than I should with a large pizza.

If you are able to try your hand at homemade pizza, you will be hooked!  It is a lot of fun.  With the extra dough I plan to make calzones one night this week for dinner.  I love calzones so I can’t wait!

I hope you have had a wonderful weekend, thanks for stopping by, and have a great week!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on March 13, 2011, in breadmaker, dough, Food, Homemade, Italian, pizza, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think your pizza looks fantastic! Great blog! =)

    KD

  2. Your husband is definitely cool because I love an onion and bacon pizza. I also love a sausage and onion pizza as well. I really enjoyed reading this and your step by step instructions which I will need to make this. Great post.

  3. Dearest Daughter-in-law,
    YOU are a superlative writer! I’m salivating for your pizza, and it’s only 9am!
    LuvYa, dad

  4. “Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”
    -W.C. Fields

  1. Pingback: Deal Grater » $20 to Spend on Food and Drink

Leave a Reply

