Irish Potatoes for St. Patty’s Day!


I wanted to share a festive little treat with you for St. Patrick’s Day.  A friend from high school, who still lives back east, posted on Facebook that she was going to make various dishes for St. Patty’s Day, and one being Irish Potatoes.  I haven’t lived in NJ for 12 years now and so I forgot about this candy.  I thought it would be a great thing to take to work because everyone loves goodies at the office and it will be something they have never had before.  In searching for the recipe I discovered that this candy is native of Philadelphia and not Irish at all.  Of course, that explained why no one outside of the northeast has even heard of it.

About now you are probably thinking…”Wait, you said it is a candy, yet you call it a potato?!?”  Yes, it is a candy and no, it does not contain any potato. It’s made to look like a potato.  Although, I did come across some recipes on my search that apparently did include potato, but this particular recipe does not. There are so many different versions out there and so I kind of picked different parts of different recipes to end up with this one I am sharing.

One thing that I did is put the coconut and half of the confectioners sugar in the food processor to chop up the coconut a little more and get a good mix of sugar and coconut.  And yes, you will need a large mixing bowl to combine everything and yes, using your hands to mix everything is the best way.  You can always put on some gloves if you are not comfortable with using your bare hands.  Also, It may seem like it is not sticking together and firming up as you mix it, but give it time, it will.

We made enough “potatoes” to fill a small bowl to take to work and the rest of the filling we portioned out with a small scoop that I use when I make cookies and tomorrow night we are going to dip them in chocolate, some with almonds and some without.

These were fun to make with my husband.  If you have little ones, this would be a fun project to do with them too!

 

Irish Potato Candies


Ingredients:

  • 1/2C Unsalted Butter (1 stick)
  • 1 Can Condensed Milk
  • 8 oz (3C loosely packed) Shredded Coconut
  • 2 lbs Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2C Cinnamon

Directions:

  • Melt 1/2 C butter in large bowl  in the microwave, approx. 1 minute.
  • In a food processor, add half of the powdered sugar and the 3 cups of coconut.  Pulse until coconut is finely chopped and combined with sugar.
  • In the bowl with the melted butter add 1 can condensed milk and stir well.
  • Now add the remaining sugar and stir with spoon just until combined and then, dump in your sugar/coconut mixture.
  • If you prefer, you can put on gloves at this time.
  • Mix together well with hands until there is no more loose sugar/coconut in the bowl.
  • Place 1/2 cup of cinnamon in a small, shallow bowl or pan.
  • Using your hands again, take the coconut filling, enough to make a large size marble, and form into your potatoes.
  • Roll in cinnamon.

You can store these in a plastic container or ziploc baggie.  Refrigeration is not necessary.

Easy enough!  Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and enjoy the rest of your week!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on March 15, 2011, in Candy, Coconut, Food, Food Processor, Homemade, Recipes, St. Patrick's Day, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This Irish Potato recipe really looks delicious. I enjoyed reading this post. I think I may make this.

  1. Pingback: St. Patty’s Day is almost here! « December Moms

  2. Pingback: Betty’s Coconut Bonbons Video Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

