Double Chocolate Cinnamon Mocha Cookies


I hope everyone is having a great weekend.  We have been kind of lazy today just hanging out, but it has been nice not having to go anywhere or complete some sort of project around the house.

Today I want to share with you some cookies that I whipped up for my husband to take to work on Friday for “pig out” day.  I have dubbed them “Double Chocolate Cinnamon Mocha” cookies.  I started out with wanting to make just a double chocolate chip cookie.  Then I got a notion to add some cinnamon, which always enhances the chocolate.  So then I got a little wild and mixed in some instant coffee.  My husband and stepson loved them.  I do have to admit they are pretty tasty.

Since I have started this blog I am attempting  more creativity with what I cook.  I have also been working on some original recipes too.  This coming week I plan to sign up for cake decorating classes.  I am also making a cake for a little boy who is turning 6 at the end of April.  This will be my first fondant cake. I am very nervous yet excited!  I will definitely share when the time comes.

Thanks again for visiting and I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Double Chocolate Cinnamon Mocha Cookies

Ingredients:

2 ¼ Cups Flour

1 tsp Baking Soda

½ tsp Salt (omit if using salted butter)

2 sticks Unsalted Butter (softened)

¾ Cups Sugar

¾ Cups Brown Sugar (packed)

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Eggs

½ tsp Cinnamon

1 TBS Instant Coffee

¼ Cup Hershey’s Special Dark Baking Cocoa **

2 Cups Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Chips**

**You can substitute to suit your preference

Instructions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.
  • Stir together flour, baking soda, salt, cocoa, cinnamon, and instant coffee.
  • In a separate bowl, with a mixer, beat butter, sugars, and vanilla until creamy.
  • Add eggs and beat well.
  • Gradually add flour mixture, beating well.
  • Stir in chocolate chips.
  • Drop by rounded teaspoonful or by using a cookie scoop, about 2 inches apart, on ungreased or parchment lined cookie sheet.
  • Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Yields  5 dozen cookies

 

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on March 26, 2011, in Baking, Chocolate, Cookies, Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It sounds like your creativity made for a delicious and unique cookie. They look fab!

  2. Oh my, you know I love chocolate lol. These cookies look absolutely divine. I am drooling right now lol. I love this recipe.

Leave a Reply

