I Heart BBQ!


I have wanted for so long to make pulled pork sandwiches, but I could never find a piece of pork small enough.  About two weeks ago I stumbled on the exact size pork shoulder that I needed!  Hooray!  Last week for our Thursday night dinner with my stepson, I decided to make the pulled pork sandwiches.

This is super easy, super tasty, and cooked in the crock pot all day.  My husband was the first one to come home and be greeted by the wonderful aroma.  He was definitely ready to eat dinner at that moment.  I arrived home, and I have to admit, it smelled so delicious. It was so nice to come home from work and only have to make the side dishes.  I chose to make chopped slaw, garlic “smashed” red potatoes, and peas. 

I LOVE recipes that allow me to use my crock pot, especially during the work week.  If you have a crock pot, love bbq, and want a stress free dinner, then you should definitely give this a try!

Crock Pot Pulled Pork Sandwiches

 2 ½ to 3 Pound Pork Shoulder

1 (21 oz) Bottle of your favorite Bbq Sauce

1 (8 oz) can of Beer (You can substitute root beer, Dr. Pepper, or water)

“Your favorite seasonings” (To taste)

  • Turn your crock pot on the “low” setting.
  • Place into crock pot: Pork, beer, seasonings.
  • Cover and cook 8 – 10 hours.
  • 1 Hour before serving, remove pork and drain juices from crock pot.
  • On a cutting board, using 2 forks, “shred” pork and return to crock pot.
  • Pour entire bottle of Bbq sauce and stir until pork is completely coated.
  • Replace lid and leave crock pot on “low” settings.
  • Stir again just before serving

 Yields: 6-8 servings

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on April 4, 2011, in Barbeque, BBQ, Crock Pot, Food, Pork, Recipes, Sandwiches, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. May I tell you that this sandwich looks so comforting and tasty, I could bite into it RIGHT NOW! Crock pot pork is my all-time favorite family dinner and like you I love to know I’ve got dinner covered already by 9:00am. One secret I have found with cooking my pork in the crock pot: I take a peeled regular brown onion and cut it in fourths; I trim off the ends, then proceed to slice one inch+ thick portions. I line them on the bottom of the crock pot as a “rack” for the pork. You actually don’t taste any onion in the juices or the pork, but if you do like caramelized onion, you have this delicious onion to serve along side and slather on top if you so desire.

  2. Oh girl, I heart BBQ everyday if I could lol. And I ALWAYS make my pulled pork out of my crock pot. It’s just easier and the meat always comes out succulent and tender. Love this post 🙂

    • We have a favorite Bbq joint close by that my husband informed me that we will no longer be visiting because home is now his favorite bbq joint…I think he is a might partial…LOL

Leave a Reply

