Food Fact Fridays!


These are my Jelly Belly jelly beans, and you ...

Image via Wikipedia

JELLY BEANS

 In honor of Easter and National Jelly Bean Day, which just so happens to be today, I thought the jelly bean would be fun to talk about.  No Easter basket would be complete without them!  Jelly beans go as far back as the 1800’s, but were not associated with Easter until the 1930’s.

Today, in the U.S. alone, 16 billion jelly beans are manufactured just for Easter.  Most packages of jelly beans come in 8 flavor assortments.  The standard color/flavor combinations are:  Red/Cherry, Orange/Orange, Yellow/Lemon, Green/Lime, Purple/Grape, Black/Black Licorice, White/Lemonade, Pink/Strawberry.  I like the red and pink.  My Memom LOVES the black jelly beans.  When my pop-pop was alive, he and Memom would fight over the bag of black jelly beans.  Although the information I found was not conclusive, it seems that kids prefer the red/cherry jelly bean to the other flavors.

If eight flavors aren’t enough for you, then check out the world’s #1 gourmet jelly bean, Jelly Belly.  Jelly Belly came on the scene around 1976.  They were the first to offer single flavors.  Initially they released 8 flavors and now they offer 50 different flavors!  For those of you not familiar with Jelly Belly they have a “menu” to help you to combine multiple flavors for a whole new experience.  For example, you can take the buttered popcorn and a blueberry; place them in your mouth and chew together.  You now have a new flavor, blueberry muffin.  Neat huh?!

 Jelly beans are fun and kids of all ages enjoy them.  Oh, for those of you watching your waistline, one serving, 35 pieces, is only 130 calories.  That’s a lot of jelly beans.  I don’t think I could eat 35 at one time.  So now you won’t feel guilty for enjoying your goodies!

  I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend and a blessed Easter.

Sources:  http://fillyourplate.org/blog/twenty-fun-facts-about-jelly-beans/

              http://www.jellybelly.com/fun_stuff/fun_facts.aspx

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on April 22, 2011, in Candy, Food, Holidays, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love jelly beans…. LOL

  2. This is a great post. I find it funny that I absolutely despise black licorice and therefore never wanted the black jellybeans, but one of my close friends adores the black licorice flavoured jellybeans. It works out for both of us!

Leave a Reply

