“Tanks” for the memories!


Before I get into my post, I am sure you have noticed some changes to the look and feel of the blog.   I hope you like it!  I was able to personalize this theme with my own photos and really make it my own.  Also, up in the heading you will notice a “Facebook” and “Twitter” button.  I now have twitter and Facebook pages for the blog.  I would love it if you would check those out and “Like” and/or “Follow” The Stubbie Chef to receive the latest posts, share recipes, or just to talk about food, the weather, or whatever!  As always, thanks for stopping by.  I hope you enjoy today’s post.

On Saturday, I had the honor of delivering my first birthday cake.  I had waited in anticipation since before Christmas to make this cake.  The lucky little boy was Thomas.   I work with his mama and I asked her if she would allow me to make his birthday cake.  She agreed and I was very excited.  It was his 6th birthday and his only request was that the cake would have a tank.

I began searching the internet for “Tank Cakes”.  There were so many and some were very awesome.  My first idea was to make a tank from cake, but I realized quickly that I might be getting a little too ahead of myself.  I found a cake that someone had made for their grandson.  It was a round layer cake and they made a tank for the top of the cake.  It was simple and perfect!  This was probably more realistic to my abilities at the present. Once I had my vision drawn out on paper I was ready.  Mama wanted a chocolate cake and I decided on a caramel frosting because Thomas loves chocolate and caramel.

I had so much fun making this cake despite the poor planning on my part.  I thought I could do it all in one day, a few hours, no sweat.  Boy was I wrong.  I started the cake around 6 P.M. Friday night.  I finally went to bed after 4 A. M. on Saturday morning.  Lesson learned.  I should have made all the frosting one night.  Prep the fondant and bake the cakes the next night and use the night before to assemble.  It was a long night and I sure was tired on Saturday, but I had a blast!

I love being creative and cake decorating satisfies that need.  I would love to specialize in children’s cake and possibly for baby showers.  Wedding cakes would be too stressful for me.  I don’t think I could deal with Bridezillas.  Children’s cakes are, in my opinion, just more fun.

The chocolate cake wasn’t a special recipe, but I do want to share the caramel frosting recipe.  I am not a big fan of caramel.  I really have to be in the mood to want it, which isn’t very often.  This frosting is fabulous!  It has more of a maple flavor than caramel, but trust me, it is delish.  I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  Follow the instructions exactly as written.  I did take the advice of someone who commented on the recipe to add 2 to 3 TBS of powdered sugar when beating the frosting after it has cooled.  This gave it a nice consistency and spread well on the cake.  It also was the perfect color to go with the theme because it looked like sand or the desert.

If you’re looking for something different, this would be the recipe to try.  Thanks for stopping by.  Have a great week!

Caramel Frosting V

Ingredients

  • 1 pound light brown sugar
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup chopped pecans (optional)

Directions

  1. In a medium, heavy saucepan, bring the sugar and cream to a rolling boil. Boil one minute. Add soda, and boil one more minute. Remove from heat. Add butter, but do not stir yet. Let the mixture cool.
  2. Beat well. Stir in pecans if desired.
About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Cake, Cooking, Cupcakes, Food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wow!!! This cake looks amazing and the tank turned out beautifully (and looks realistic!) I still can’t get over how you made the tank…absolutely incredible 🙂

    • Thank you for such kind words! I am glad my long exhausting night really came together. Funny thing, the tank and stars were the easy part LOL. I was so nervous to work with fondant, but it was not hard at all! Thank you again for such a nice comment and thanks again for stopping by! I hope your move went well!

  2. My son would love chocolate caramel frosting. The cake looks awesome! Congratulations! What a project.

  3. Okay I must admit, I was a little lost when I first got to the blog lol. But I love the new look. And you really did a wonderful job on this tank cake. And I love the cupcakes. Your cake business should take off in no time now 🙂

Leave a Reply

