Wasting away again in Margaritaville…


It wasn’t until I moved to Texas that I really acknowledged Cinco de Mayo.  And although I don’t have full knowledge of the reason behind the holiday,  I do know  it is a holiday celebrated in the U.S. and not Mexico.  It certainly doesn’t take much of an excuse to celebrate a holiday and whether it’s at home or in the local Mexican restaurant, you can always find a fiesta on this day.

 A few years back, in the office I worked in before, myself and the other front desk clerk, Gracie, were the unofficial party planners of the building.  She enjoys cooking as much as I do.  In fact, if you remember, she is the one who gave me the recipe for the hot sauce I posted about before.  Anyway, a few years back we planned a Cinco de Mayo potluck.  Because no Cinco de Mayo party is complete without margaritas, we began searching for margarita recipes sans tequila.

 The recipe I am going to share is the one we decided to try.  Even if you are not a margarita fan, but love the lemon-lime combination, you will love this.  It was a HUGE hit at the party.  In my new office, I shared this at a bridal shower we had last summer.  Again, it was the talk of the party.  In both occasions there were multiple requests for a copy of the recipe.

 I suggest doubling the recipe.

“Frozen Mock Margaritas

 Things you will need:

  • Blender
  • 4 Liter container (Be sure it has a lid. I save the ice cream containers that are the plastic buckets with a handle, works great)
  • Punch Bowl (For the day you will serve)

 Ingredients:

  • 6 cups of ice (divided)
  • 1 Cup Confectioners’ sugar (divided)
  • 1 Frozen Limeade concentrate, slightly thawed (divided)
  • 1 Frozen Lemonade concentrate, slightly thawed (divided)
  • 1 Liter of Club Soda (Keep chilled in fridge until ready to serve)
  • Lime wedges
  • Coarse salt or sugar

 Directions:

The night before or the morning of the party/gathering:

  • Place 3 cups of ice, ½ cup confectioners’ sugar, ½ each of the limeade and lemonade.
  • Use the “ice crush” setting or whatever setting is comparable on your blender and mix until smooth.
  • Pour into storage container.
  • Repeat with the remaining half of the ingredients just used in steps above.
  • Place container in **freezer until ready to serve.  (if you wanted to add tequila, this would be the time to stir-in one cup)

**Please note, the mixture will become firm and will not freeze solid.

 For the party/gathering:

  • Remove the container from freezer 30 minutes before serving.
  • Rub rim of glasses with lime.  Place salt or sugar in a saucer and dip the glass rim into salt or sugar.
  • Transfer lemon/lime mixture to punch bowl.
  • Stir in club soda until it becomes slushy.
  • Pour into prepared glasses or allow your guests to serve their selves.

 What is so nice about this recipe is that you can make a batch to keep in your freezer and scoop out enough into a glass and add club soda for a single serving.   It’s great to have on hand to enjoy on a hot summer day or when unexpected company arrives.

 Gracias por parar cerca. ¡Tenga una gran semana!

About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Blender, Cinco de Mayo, Cooking, Drinks, Food, Holidays, Margaritas, Mexican, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Mmm I love any kind of margarita, and these sound perfect for summer 🙂

  2. What a fun post…I can’t wait to try the mock margaritas. It looks refreshing and delicious.

  3. I don’t drink, but I can recognize a good drink recipe when I see one. You did a incredible job girl. Happy soon to be Cinco de Mayo and have fun 🙂

  4. This is a wonderful make ahead idea! I like to be prepared when friends drop in and this will be perfect for the coming summer months. I will most likely add the tequila!!

  1. Pingback: Margaritas for Cinco de Mayo « Best Holiday Recipes Ever!

Leave a Reply

