“Easy Peasy Mac and Cheesy”


The title was my husband’s idea and my homage to Rachel Ray.  I love her.  She is so much fun to watch simply because she loves what she does.  Rachel Ray is actually the first television chef that I followed regularly.  “30 Minute Meals” is the best show, but I digress. 

If you haven’t already guessed it, today I will share with you a mac and cheese recipe that I tried making last weekend.  We had a nice ham dinner last Sunday and I wanted to make mac and cheese from scratch.  I LOVE most macaroni and cheese.  Not all are created equal, however.  Kraft “blue box” mac and cheese is good.  I also like Wal-Mart’s no-name brand; the Kraft knock off.  The Velveeta shells and cheese I don’t care for on its own.  I will actually doctor it up as a semi-homemade side by adding shredded cheese and bread crumbs.  I will also use it in a throw together meal that I make by adding Rotel, grilled chicken, corn, and black beans. That meal I will share with you at another time.

To me, homemade macaroni and cheese is one of those super ultimate comfort foods.  It reminds me of being a kid when mom would come to tuck you in all snug in your blanket at bedtime.  You feel safe.  There are some of you who will read this and will no doubt get that “one eyebrow raised” look.  You know the one.  The look that says, she is crazy.  To you this is just macaroni and cheese.  Then there are those who will totally get it and know exactly what I am talking about.  Either way, neither can deny that macaroni and cheese is dang good.

And just like the title suggests, this recipe is easy.  I found it at my favorite website, Allrecipes.com.  It is actually a recipe that was posted by Nestle Carnation.  This is not diet friendly.  For those of you concerned with carbs and calories, I am sure you can easily adapt this recipe to your preference.  The only thing I did differently with this recipe is that I mixed breadcrumbs into the cheese that you reserve to sprinkle on the top.  That is the way my mom and memom made theirs.  That is totally optional and doesn’t change the outcome of the dish.

Thanks for stopping by and have a great week!

 Traditional Macaroni and Cheese

Ingredients

  • 1 2/3 cups dry, small elbow macaroni, cooked and drained
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 (12 fluid ounce) can NESTLE® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 2 cups shredded sharp Cheddar cheese, divided

 Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Grease 2-quart casserole dish.
  2. Combine cornstarch, salt, mustard and pepper in medium saucepan. Stir in evaporated milk, water, and butter. Cook over medium-heat, stirring constantly, until mixture comes to a boil. Boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat. Stir in 1 1/2 cups cheese until melted. Add macaroni; mix well. Pour into prepared casserole dish. Top with remaining cheese.
  3. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until cheese is melted and light brown.
About thestubbiechef

I am married to the greatest man, Brad, who also happens to be the "bestest" friend ever! He loves that my hobby is food, because, well, he loves food! He encourages me and helps me out in the kitchen from time to time. Baking has become a new passion for me. It seems that I make pretty good pies. I like to make cookies as well. I tried my hand at cupcakes, but I don't have the patience to play the waiting game. I have always loved to cook. My Memom is my main influence. I had the pleasure of living with her on 2 separate occasions and learned a lot by just watching and helping. She was also the kind of cook who could open the pantry and throw together something pretty quick. I was so glad that I picked up on that skill. Some of my better meals have been the ones that I just "threw together" what I could scrounge up in the pantry and fridge. Italian cuisine is my first love, growing up in an Italian family and being from New Jersey. I also have dabbled a little in Asian cooking. I am getting pretty good at pork fried rice. My husband grew up in the south, for the most part, so I have been trying my hand at things like chicken fried steak, biscuits and gravy, and the likes. Living in Texas has opened doors into Mexican cuisine, but I think I will leave the tortilla making to the experts. I love to get new recipes and to share new recipes that I have discovered. That is why I wanted to start this blog! I hope to share my experience with others who also love to cook! I hope that you enjoy what you read and keep coming back!

Posted on May 9, 2011, in Food, Homemade, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Yum times 100,000 please. Mac N’ Cheese, the homemade version, is my all time favorite comfort meal. This one looks so delicious!

  2. This is a great recipe for mac and cheese, and I love the fact that it is baked, the way my mom used to make it. I’m saving this page for sure. Thanks.

  3. Mac and cheese is 100% comfort food. Especially for poor college/university students 😛 Your homemade version sounds great!

  4. I love Mac and cheese and the different recipes I find for it. Usually we make traditional southern mac and cheese but I adore you posting this recipe. Girl you got me in a cheesy mood now lol

  5. I love pasta, especially on weeknights. Oh who am I kidding, all the time. Great recipe.

Leave a Reply

